Gleason Family YMCA Knitting Group

Jan 10, 2018

Event Date: 

Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm

The Gleason Family YMCA Knitting Group started as a social group of people who liked to knit and crochet.  The history behind this social group of knitters started in the early days of the opening of the Gleason Family YMCA where Pat Lockhart made friends with Joan Stopka, who worked at the Welcome Center Desk. Joan always wore a beautiful knitted scarf around her neck or sweater over her shoulders. They discussed organizing a knitting/crochet group at the Y and 10 years later this group is still meeting at the YMCA on a weekly basis. The group meets on Wednesday's 1 pm-2:30 pm in the Community Room where they share ideas for projects, yarn, patterns, and conversation. Many handmade articles are created by the group, including mittens, hats, gloves, sweaters, and baby afghans with many items going to charitable organizations in Wareham and surrounding areas including New Bedford. Some of the organizations that have benefited from the group of 10+ women who work at home and the Y on projects include Turning Point, Baby Point, and the YMCA. The group also makes chemo hats for several hospitals. Donations of yarn are always accepted and may be left at the Gleason Family YMCA Welcome Center to the attention of YMCA Knitting group. Many thanks to all the people who have donated to our group over the last 10+ years.

New knitters are welcome to join the group on Wednesday afternoons and donated yarn is available to help get you started, but needles and crochet hooks are participants responsibility. The group is open to all skill levels and provides and outlet to get out and socialize with fellow knitters on a weekly basis. Contact Edyie Johnson to join or for more information at: edyiej@comcast.

The YMCA knitting group will get you hooked on knitting and crocheting!

Event Date: 

Wednesday, September 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, September 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, October 3, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, October 10, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, October 24, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, October 31, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, November 7, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, November 14, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, November 21, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, November 28, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, December 5, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, December 12, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, December 19, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, December 26, 2018 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm
Wednesday, January 2, 2019 - 1:00pm to 2:30pm

Event Location: 

Gleason Family YMCA

Address: 

33 Charge Pond Rd
Wareham  Massachusetts
United States

Contact Name: 

Cathy Longfield