DPW Building Committee formed

Jun 13, 2022

MARION — Five members of the general public have been named to the Department of Public Works Building Committee, which will oversee the construction process for the new facility.

Public members are Andrew Daniel, Dana Nilson, Casey Barros, Dan Crete and Sherman Briggs. Staff members on the board are: Town Administrator Jay McGrail, DPW director Nathaniel Munafo, DPW office manager Becky Tilden, select board member Randy Parker and an unnamed DPW highway staff member.

A number of residents expressed interest in serving, McGrail said. The committee members selected represented a variety of backgrounds, he said. He thanked all the applicants for their interest. 

No meeting schedule has yet been established for the committee.

Members will oversee the construction of a new facility for the DPW, to be located on Benson Brook Road.

The new facility will provide coverage for the department’s equipment, which is now being kept outdoors and subject to wear from the elements. The project also includes a covered area for the town’s salt supply, which is currently exposed and running into nearby Route 6 and Evergreen Cemetery.

Voters at last month’s Town Meeting and subsequent town election approved the project, at a cost of $4.456 million. Free cash will cover $1.5 million, with $3 million to be borrowed.

Although the project cost has been approved, specifics of the design and construction will be determined by the building committee.