Mattapoisett Town Election races take shape

Apr 2, 2021

MATTAPOISETT — Four races are shaping up for local offices in the May 18 town election. Multiple candidates have taken out nomination papers for spots on the Select Board, School Committee, Board of Library Trustees and for the position of Highway Surveyor.

There’s a race for the Board of Selectmen seat left vacant by Paul Silva’s decision not to run for re-election. Jodi Lynn Bauer and Nicole Demakis have both returned their nomination papers to the town clerk’s office. R. Tyler Macallister also took out election papers, but missed the March 30 deadline to return them to the Town Clerk.

Four people are running for two positions on the Mattapoisett School Committee, one left vacant by Carole Clifford’s decision not to seek reelection. Jim Muse is seeking reelection, and is joined in the contest by Eric Beauregard, Tiffini Reedy and Cristin Cowles. Muse, Beauregard and Reedy have all returned their nomination papers, but Cowles missed the March 30 deadline to do so.

With two positions up for election on the Board of Library Trustees, Elizabeth Sylvia and William Osier are seeking re-election. The incumbents are challenged by Jennifer Shepley.

With Barry Denham not seeking reelection as highway surveyor, Garrett Bauer and Gary Bowman have thrown their hats into the ring. Both Bauer and Bowman have returned their nomination papers to the Town Clerk.