Mattapoisett election nomination papers available

Jan 22, 2018

Mattapoisett is gearing up for its annual election, slated for May 22. Nomination papers for town positions became available on Jan. 22. The last day to pull papers is March 30, the last day to file papers is April 3, and the last day to register to vote in the election is April 24.

Candidates up for re-election, should they choose to run, are: Selectman Paul Silva, Assessor Leonard Coppola, Mattapoisett School Committee members Carole Sherman Clifford and James Muse, Trustees of Mattapoisett Library William Asci and Amy Lignitz Harken, Moderator John Eklund, Water/Sewer Commissioner Albert Meninno Jr., Highway Surveyor Barry Denham, Board of Health member Russell Bailey, Planning Board member Gail Carlson, Mattapoisett Housing Authority member Margaret DeMello and Community Preservation Committee members Jodi Bauer and John DeCosta Jr.

All terms are for three years except for the moderator, which is one year, the Planning Board, which is five years and the Community Preservation Committee, which is two years.

Additionally, there is one vacant Trustee of Public Library seat. The term is for one year.

Thus far, Coppola and Bauer have pulled nomination papers.