Incumbent selectman pulls nomination papers

Feb 15, 2018

Mattapoisett Board of Selectmen Chair Paul Silva is seeking a fourth term on the board.

Silva has pulled nomination papers ahead of the town's election, slated for April 24. He has been a selectman for nine years, and hopes to remain on the board to help planning for Mattapoisett’s future.

“It’s something I really enjoy doing,” he said. “It allows me to use a lot of knowledge and experience I’ve had in my work career, and to be able to use it toward the town I think has been a lot of help. I’ve always enjoyed budgeting and strategic planning.”

Prior to joining the Board of Selectmen, Silva was a member of the Finance Committee.

“When I retired in 2001 I decided to give back to the town,” he said.

Other candidates up for re-election, should they choose to run, are: Assessor Leonard Coppola, Mattapoisett School Committee members Carole Sherman Clifford and James Muse, Trustees of Mattapoisett Library William Asci and Amy Lignitz Harken, Moderator John Eklund, Water/Sewer Commissioner Albert Meninno Jr., Highway Surveyor Barry Denham, Board of Health member Russell Bailey, Planning Board member Gail Carlson, Mattapoisett Housing Authority member Margaret DeMello and Community Preservation Committee members Jodi Bauer and John DeCosta Jr.

Additionally, there is one vacant Trustee of Public Library seat. The term is for one year.