Two races shape up as Rochester nominations close

Feb 23, 2018

Rochester voters have two election races on their hands when Town Elections are held on April 11; three candidates are vying for a seat on the town's Board of Selectmen, while four residents are looking to secure two seats on the town's Planning Board.

Election nominations closed on Wednesday, February 21.

While the candidates have until Friday, February 23 to officially withdraw from the race, should they decide to do so, Rochester's current candidate field is official.

Board of Selectmen

Three people are seeking the seat of Selectman Naida Parker, whose term expires this year:

  • Paul Ciaburri
  • Cathy Mendoza
  • David Arancio

Ciaburri is the director of Rochester's Emergency Management Committee, and recently retired from a longtime career at Moran Towing in New York. Mendoza has a long-term background in real estate and marketing, while Arancio is a Field Safety & Risk Manager at Dellbrook in Quincy, as well as a member of Rochester's Zoning Board of Appeals and Finance Committee.

Planning Board

The four candidates for two Planning Board seats are:

  • Ben Bailey
  • John DiMaggio
  • Bill Milka
  • David Shaw

Bailey and DiMaggio are incumbents; they are seeking to return to their seats as their terms expire this year. Milka is the owner of Reliable Excavating in Rochester, while Shaw is currently a member of the town's Cemetery Commission.

In other election news:

Town Moderator Kirby Gilmore, Tree Warden Jeff Eldridge, Board of Health Member Dale Barrows, Park Commission member Kenneth Ross, Water Commission member Michael Conway, Rochester School Committee members Tina Rood and Robin Rounseville, and Old Rochester School Committee member Cary Humphrey are all running unopposed to return to their seats, pending the possibility of a write in campaign.

Neither Noelle Johnson nor May Patricia Ruocco took out papers to return to the Plumb Library's Board of Trustees. Instead, new candidates Gloria Vincent and Jordan Pouliot will take their seats, unless any candidate wages a successful write-in campaign.

A seat on the town's Cemetery Commission will remain vacant pending a write-in campaign, as incumbent Veronica Lafreniere did not take out papers to return to her position.