Carleton ‘Toby’ Burr elected to Select Board, DPW project approved

May 13, 2022

MARION — Carleton “Toby’’ Burr was elected the newest member of the Select Board in Marion’s Town Election Friday, defeating fellow candidate Dr. Ed Hoffer by a 524-397 margin.

“I’m delighted, surprised and very thankful for everyone who put in a lot of effort’’ into his campaign, Burr said moments after the tally was announced. 

He replaces John Waterman, who opted not to run again. 

Voters also selected Burr’s son, Tucker Burr, and Andrew Daniel to the two open seats on the Planning Board. Burr received 520 voters and Daniel earned 498 votes to secure their new positions.

They will fill the seats vacated by William Saltonstall and Joe Rocha.

Efforts by fellow Planning Board candidates William Dale Jones and Barrett Levenson fell short. Jones received 300 votes and Levenson earned 209.

The Department of Public Works project will go forward, with voters approving a debt exclusion by a 592-246 margin. This will allow the town to borrow for the project outside the restrictions of Proposition 2 ½.

The approval, along with support at last Monday’s Town Meeting, allows the town to construct storage buildings to upgrade current conditions and to keep equipment and sand under cover.

Nine hundred thirty-nine ballots were cast out of 4,363 registered voters, Town Clerk Lissa Magauran reported at the Cushing Center, where voting was held. 

Candidates who ran unopposed were: Marion School Committee, three-year term, Nichole Davis, 708 votes; Old Rochester Regional School Committee, April Nye, 716 votes; Board of Health, Ed Hoffer, 710 votes; Town Moderator, Brad Gordon, 769 votes; Assessor, Catherine Gibbs, 743 votes; Open Space Acquisition Commission, John Rockwell, 637 votes.

A second two-year seat and a one-year seat on the Open Space Acquisition Commission and a one-year post on the Marion School Committee had no contenders. 

The sole write-in candidate for the one-year seat on the Marion School Committee was Nicole Nye McGaffey, who received 55 votes. 

There was a tie in write-in candidates for the second three-year seat on the Open Space Acquisition Commission between Ron Larochelle and Mark Sylvia, who received two votes each, and for the one-year seat on the commission, with Alan Harris and Sylvia receiving two votes each.