Incumbents sweep Mattapoisett elections

May 16, 2023

MATTAPOISETT— Mattapoisett voters made their voices heard on election day, Tuesday, May 16. Incumbents Tyler Macallister, Carly Lavin, Frances-Feliz Kearns and Ruth Jolliffee will all retain their seats on their respective boards.

Incumbent Tyler Macallister will keep his seat on the Mattapoisett Select Board for another term after receiving 1,252 votes. He defeated challenger Catherine Heuberger who received 402 votes. 

“I want to thank the people that came and voted, I am looking forward to another three years of serving the town,” said Macallister

Brian Connelly, who exited the Select Board race before the election, received 245 votes. 

“I am a little relieved but I am glad that I ran,” said Heuberger. She said that she is looking forward to continuing to work for the town as town clerk. 

Incumbent Carly Lavin won the open seat  for Mattapoisett School Committee with a total of 1,270 votes. She ran against David Pierre who received 657 votes. 

“I am looking forward to continuing the work,” said Lavin. 

Pierre said that he enjoyed running against Lavin,“I want to extend my congratulations to Carly,” he said. 

Incumbent Frances-Feliz Kearns will keep her spot on the Old Rochester Regional School Committee with 1,169 votes. 

Her opponent, Richard Riley received 791 votes. 

Neither Kearns nor Riley were immediately available for comment. 

Voters could choose from three candidates to fill two seats on the Mattapoisett Board of Library Trustees. Incumbent Ruth Jolliffee received 1,366 votes while William Coquillette took the second-place spot with 996 votes. 

Jolliffee did not immediately respond to requests for comment, but Coquillete said he wanted to thank all who voted.

“I am very thankful for the voters who gave me the opportunity to make the library the best asset it can be,” said Coquillette. 

Paul Criscuolo, who received 427 votes, was not elected. 

“I would like to congratulate the two winners,” said Criscuolo.

All other races in Mattapoisett Town Election ran  uncontested. 

Heuberger will continue to hold her position as Town Clerk with a total of 1,507 votes, Ray Andrews was elected as Mattapoisett Town Assessor with 1,527 votes,Daniel Chase was elected to a seat on the Mattapoisett  Water and Sewer Commission with 1,498 votes.

Town Moderator John Eklund will continue in his role after receiving 237 write-in votes.

Carmelo Nicolosi was elected to the Mattapoisett Board of Health with 1,489 votes,William Wennerberg was elected to a spot on the Planning Board with 1,354 votes,John Vaughn was elected to the Mattapoisett Housing Authority with 1,451 votes.

Michelle Hughes was elected to serve on the Community Preservation Community with 1,422 votes. Charles William Mccullough received 1,348 vote