New and familiar faces favored in Marion Town Election

May 14, 2021

MARION — Marion has decided.

Former Selectman Jon Henry and newcomer Alanna Nelson edged out incumbent Andrew Daniel in a five-way race for two positions on the Planning Board in Marion’s May 14 Town Election.

Of 4,335 registered voters in town, 565 — or about 13% — participated in Friday’s election.

Nelson received 245 votes and Henry earned 241. Falling short in the election were lifelong resident Tucker Burr with 213 votes, Daniel with 207 votes and Energy Management Committee member Tom Friedman with 107.

Nelson, an Energy management Committee member and resident since 2019, said she’s “grateful — very grateful” to have won the election.

Nelson said she’s looking forward to “digging into subdivision law” with the Planning Board, and “examining the best possibilities and looking for the best way forward” with the board.

Henry said he was “flabbergasted” at the results of the election. 

“I’m happy. I think I can do something on the Planning Board,” he said. 

Henry said he’s looking forward to “getting more information before the board, so things go smoothly and faster.”

A number of uncontested incumbents were reelected to their positions in town government.

Randy Parker retained his seat on the Board of Selectmen with 494 votes. There were 71 ballots left blank or filled with write-in candidates.

George Walker received 426 votes for the Board of Assessors; Brad Gordon received 470 votes for Moderator; Jon Howard received 431 votes for the Board of Health; Deborah Ewig received 428 votes for the Marion Open Space Acquisition Commission.

There were three candidates for three positions on the Marion School Committee. Mary Beauregard, Michelle Ouellette Smith and April Rios all retained their positions, with 414, 402 and 394 votes, respectively.