New candidates join Marion's selectmen, Planning Board races

Mar 22, 2018

Marion's election field is set, as nominations closed on March 26. The only races are for a one-year term on the Board of Selectmen and for a seat on the Board of assessors.

Joe Zora has pulled papers for the one-year Board of Selectmen term, left vacant by the resignation of Steve Gonsalves. Zora joins fellow one-year term hopefuls W. Dale Jones, John Waterman and Michelle Ouellette Smith.

Resident Randy Parker is the only candidate for the three-year Board of Selectmen term currently held by Jody Dickerson, who stated he would be be running to keep his seat.

The only other current race is for a seat on the Board of Assessors; incumbent Ray Pickles, also the Town Clerk, will face off against George 'TJ' Walker for the lone three-year slot. Both candidates have returned their papers.

In Marion's Planning Board race, newcomer Kristen St.Don-Campbell has taken out papers to run for a three-year term currently held by outgoing member Jennifer Francis. St.Don-Campbell is the only one who pulled papers for the seat.

New Marion School Committee member April Rios returned papers to fill a three-year term that is currently held by David McDonald. Ouellette Smith has also taken out papers to return to her own seat on the School Committee.

Planning Board incumbent Andrew Daniels, seeking to return to his chair, is currently the only candidate running for his position.