Marion resident awarded for green energy, climate change efforts

May 11, 2018

Marion resident Jennifer Francis has received a Special Recognition Award from the Southeastern Regional Planning and Economic Development District (SRPEDD) for her efforts in advancing green energy in Marion, as well as for her work to include climate resiliency strategies in town planning.

Francis' term on the Planning Board expired this month; she will not be returning to her seat. She served on the Planning Board beginning in 2015 and remains active on the Energy Management Committee and the Transportation and Circulation Task Force.

She played a key role in the Marion Master Plan, completed in 2017, and is also spearheading the Master Plan Implementation Committee.

According to Planning Board representatives, Francis has made a significant difference in sustainability for the Town of Marion.  She had a leadership role in the installation of electric vehicle charging stations, retrofitting buildings for energy efficiency, and helping the Town adopt solar and wind energy resources—all of which yield economic benefit and contribute to Marion's public health, wildlife and habitat preservation, water supply, land use, and decreasing carbon dioxide emissions.

In the Marion Master Plan, Francis was instrumental in adding a Climate Resiliency section, which advocates for Marion to adopt sustainable and hazard mitigation strategies.

Francis' Special Recognition Award will be presented at the 2018 SRPEDD Annual Meeting on May 23, from 5:30-8:30 p.m. at Rachel’s Lakeside, 950 State Road in Dartmouth. New Bedford Mayor Jon Mitchell is the event’s keynote speaker.

Marion friends wishing to join Jennifer should contact Stacy Royer ( or 508- 824-1367) to reserve a seat, or register online at

Francis’s award nomination letter, written by Marion Planning Board Chair Eileen Marum, can be found here.