2018 Rochester Election

Jan 6, 2018

Rochester's annual town election will be held on April 11. Polls will be open from 9 a.m. to 9 p.m. The last day to register to vote in the election is March 22.

Nomination papers are available until February 21. Papers must be returned with the requisite signatures by that date.

The following is on the ballot this year.

Board of Selectmen

One selectman seat is on the ballot; the position is currently held by Naida Parker. Parker's term is ending this year; she will not seek re-election.

Three residents have taken out papers to run for the seat—two of whom are newcomers to Rochester politics.

Paul Ciaburri is the town's Emergency Management Director; he recently retired from a 34-year career as the Chief Engineer for Moran Towing Company in New York. “I’ve lived in town for a long time, and I just don’t like the way it’s been going for the last six or eight months,” he said of his decision to run. “I figure I should do something about it.”

Realtor and Hiller Road resident Cathy Mendoza has also taken out nomination papers. Mendoza cited schools, government transparency and residential neighborhood protection as her main reasons for running. “Municipal governance has become self serving as opposed to serving at the will of the people,” she said. “Our residents are being disregarded...The very laws we have adopted in Rochester are not available for public viewing, much less enforced. This is a challenge I am well prepared for.”

Zoning Board of Appeals member David Arancio has also taken out nomination papers for a selectman seat.

Of the three people who have pulled nomination papers, Ciaburri and Mendoza have returned papers, making their candidacies official.


Planning Board

Two Planning Board seats are on the ballot for this year; the terms of members Ben Bailey and John DiMaggio will expire this year.

Both incumbents have taken out nomination papers to return to their seat. Rochester resident Bill Milka and Cemetery Commission member David Shaw have taken out papers to join the board as well.


School Committees

Two three-year terms on Rochester's School Committee are also available. Incumbents Robin Rounseville and Tina Rood have pulled nomination papers to return to their seats. In addition, on the Old Rochester School Committee, incumbent Cary Humphreys has also taken out papers to return.


Town Moderator

Rochester Town Moderator Kirby Gilmore's term will expire this year.

Currently no one has pulled papers for the position.

To see a full list of positions on Rochester's ballot, click here.