Historic District Study Committee to begin work in Marion

Jan 9, 2023

The Marion Historical Commission announced that on Jan. 4, 2023, the Marion Select Board appointed seven members to the newly formed Local Historic District Study Committee. They were selected by the Select Board from 16 applicants.

This committee will be charged with evaluating the merits of creating a local historic district in the Marion Village area as a method for preserving and protecting the historic and architectural character which gives the village its “historic seaside charm.” In a local historic district, certain changes to exterior features visible from a public way would be subject to a design review process to ensure they are consistent with the area’s historic integrity.

The members of the new study committee are Margie Baldwin, Dan Crete, John DiSalvo, George Morton, Stephen Swain, Will Tifft, who is representing the Sippican Historical Society, and Mallory Waterman. Meg Steinberg, Chair of the Marion Historical Commission, will serve as an advisor to the Study Committee to coordinate this work with ongoing Historical Commission objectives and activities.

The study committee will meet soon to begin its work. A public informational meeting to help people understand the historic district concept will be an early step in their process.